The Resource Americanized, Sara Saedi, (electronic resource)

Americanized, Sara Saedi, (electronic resource)

Label
Americanized
Title
Americanized
Statement of responsibility
Sara Saedi
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In development as a television series from Reese Witherspoon's Hello Sunshine production company and ABC Studios! The hilarious, poignant, and true story of one teen's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Trevor Noah's books. "Very funny but never flippant, Saedi mixes '90s pop culture references, adolescent angst and Iranian history into an intimate, informative narrative that thoroughly defies current divisive view on immigration."? The New York Times At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn't learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job, but couldn't because she didn't have a Social Security number. Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didn't keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend. Americanized follows Sara's progress toward getting her green card, but that's only a portion of her experiences as an Iranian-"American" teenager. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mother's green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country at any time to the almost-as-terrifying possibility that she might be the only one of her friends without a date to the prom. This moving, often hilarious story is for anyone who has ever shared either fear. FEATURED ON NPR'S FRESH AIR! FOUR STARRED REVIEWS! " A must-read, vitally important memoir . . . . Poignant and often LOL funny, Americanized is utterly of the moment ." ? Bustle " Read Saedi's memoir to push out the poison." ? Teen Vogue "A funny, poignant must read for the times we are living in today." ? Pop Sugar
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Saedi, Sara
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Overdrive Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Saedi, Sara
  • Saedi, Sara.
  • Iranian Americans
  • Family life
  • Immigrants
  • Noncitizens
  • Iranian Americans
  • Family life
  • Immigrants
  • Noncitizens
  • YOUNG ADULT NONFICTION / General
  • California
  • California
Label
Americanized, Sara Saedi, (electronic resource)
Link
https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BPwAAAA2x/products/97a48a8f-8a15-4b6e-8b0a-8f4936de7ed5
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781524717810
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
97A48A8F-8A15-4B6E-8B0A-8F4936DE7ED5
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
Label
Americanized, Sara Saedi, (electronic resource)
Link
https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BPwAAAA2x/products/97a48a8f-8a15-4b6e-8b0a-8f4936de7ed5
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781524717810
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
97A48A8F-8A15-4B6E-8B0A-8F4936DE7ED5
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read

Library Locations

  • Arcadia Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
    1302 North Justin Ave., Dallas, TX, 75211, US
    32.759167 -96.90955
  • Audelia Road Branch LibraryBorrow it
    10045 Audelia Road, Dallas, TX, 75238, US
    32.885666 -96.718403
  • Bachman Lake Branch LibraryBorrow it
    9480 Webb Chapel Road, Dallas, TX, 75220, US
    32.862693 -96.859319
  • Bookmarks in NorthPark CenterBorrow it
    8687 North Central Expressway, Dallas, TX, 75225, US
    32.868502 -96.859319
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    1515 Young Street, Dallas, TX, 75201, US
    32.778169 -96.796847
  • Central Library - 1st FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 2nd FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 3rd FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 4th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 5th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 6th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 6th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 6th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 7th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 8th Floor - GenealogyBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 8th Floor - HistoryBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Dallas West Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2332 Singleton Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75212, US
    32.778326 -96.860051
  • Forest Green Branch LibraryBorrow it
    9015 Forest Lane, Dallas, TX, 75243, US
    32.909562 -96.748751
  • Fretz Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6990 Belt Line Road, Dallas, TX, 75254, US
    32.949690 -96.783287
  • Grauwyler Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2146 Gilford Street, Dallas, TX, 75235, US
    32.833796 -96.858299
  • Hampton-Illinois Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2951 South Hampton Road, Dallas, TX, 75224, US
    32.713454 -96.857908
  • Highland Hills Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6200 Bonnie View Road, Dallas, TX, 75241, US
    32.670846 -96.760155
  • Kleberg-Rylie Branch LibraryBorrow it
    1301 Edd Road, Dallas, TX, 75253, US
    32.686405 -96.601051
  • Lakewood Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6121 Worth Street, Dallas, TX, 75214, US
    32.810371 -96.753402
  • Lochwood Branch LibraryBorrow it
    11221 Lochwood Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75218, US
    32.848358 -96.688228
  • Martin Luther King Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2922 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75215, US
    32.770560 -96.766025
  • Mountain Creek Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6102 Mountain Creek Parkway, Dallas, TX, 75249, US
    32.650591 -96.966025
  • North Oak Cliff Branch LibraryBorrow it
    302 West Tenth Street, Dallas, TX, 75208, US
    32.744798 -96.827018
  • Oak Lawn Branch LibraryBorrow it
    4100 Cedar Springs Road, Dallas, TX, 75219, US
    32.812377 -96.812417
  • Park Forest Branch LibraryBorrow it
    3421 Forest Lane, Dallas, TX, 75234, US
    32.910084 -96.863567
  • Paul Laurence Dunbar Lancaster-Kiest Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2008 East Kiest Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75216, US
    32.714826 -96.790407
  • Pleasant Grove Branch LibraryBorrow it
    7310 Lake June Road, Dallas, TX, 75217, US
    32.733780 -96.695778
  • Polk-Wisdom Branch LibraryBorrow it
    7151 Library Lane, Dallas, TX, 75232, US
    32.661676 -96.842047
  • Prairie Creek Branch LibraryBorrow it
    9609 Lake June Road, Dallas, TX, 75217, US
    32.734611 -96.656219
  • Preston Royal Branch LibraryBorrow it
    5626 Royal Lane, Dallas, TX, 75229, US
    32.894367 -96.811304
  • Renner Frankford Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6400 Frankford Road, Dallas, TX, 75252, US
    32.997706 -96.794584
  • Skillman Southwestern Branch LibraryBorrow it
    5707 Skillman Street, Dallas, TX, 75206, US
    32.857621 -96.756542
  • Skyline Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6006 Everglade Road, Dallas, TX, 75227, US
    32.784806 -96.699579
  • Timberglen Branch LibraryBorrow it
    18505 Midway Road, Dallas, TX, 75287, US
    33.003610 -96.845126
  • White Rock Hills Branch LibraryBorrow it
    18505 Midway Road, Dallas, TX, 75228, US
    32.814007 -96.691700