The Resource Missing, presumed : a novel, Susie Steiner

Missing, presumed : a novel, Susie Steiner

Label
Missing, presumed : a novel
Title
Missing, presumed
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Susie Steiner
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For readers of Kate Atkinson and Tana French comes a page-turning literary mystery that brings to life the complex and wholly relatable Manon Bradshaw, a strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case. "An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George."?Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer At thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep?and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene. Edith Hind?a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family?has been missing for nearly twenty-four hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be big?and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive. The investigation starts with Edith's loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith's tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to her disappearance. With no clear leads, Manon summons every last bit of her skill and intuition to close the case, and what she discovers will have shocking consequences not just for Edith's family but for Manon herself. Suspenseful and keenly observed, Missing, Presumed is a brilliantly twisting novel of how we seek connection, grant forgiveness, and reveal the truth about who we are. Praise for Missing, Presumed "A vein of dark humor pulses beneath this compelling whodunit with an appealing, complicated heroine at its center."? Publishers Weekly "A highly charismatic and engaging story ... This novel stands out from the pack."? Kirkus Reviews "Where Steiner excels is in the depth and clarity with which she depicts her characters. ... It all adds up to a world that feels much bigger than the novel in which it is contained."? The Guardian "Detective Sergeant Manon Bradshaw is appealing, multifaceted, and unforgettable. She charges through Missing, Presumed with twin goals?to find the body, and to find durable love. The resolution of this gripping novel astonishes, and leaves a long afterglow."?Amity Gaige, author of Schroder "Manon Bradshaw is a messed-up, big-hearted detective in the best tradition."?Harriet Lane, author of Her "Gripping, authentic, funny, and moving, Missing, Presumed hits the sweet spot between literary and crime fiction."?Erin Kelly, author of Broadchurch " Missing, Presumed is a gripping, suspenseful, gratifyingly unpredictable detective novel, with enough plot twists to satisfy fans of the genre."?Maggie Mitchell, author of Pretty Is "Within a chapter, DS Manon Bradshaw announces herself as a detective to follow through books and books to come."?Lucie Whitehouse, author of Before We Met "Complex, gripping ... a page-turning literary crime novel."?Suzanne Rindell, author of The Other Typist From the Hardcover ..
Cataloging source
IDEBK
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1971-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Steiner, Susie
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6119.T446
LC item number
M57 2016eb
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women detectives
  • Missing persons
  • Women college students
  • Fiction
  • Literature
  • Mystery
  • Missing persons
  • Women college students
  • Women detectives
  • FICTION / General
  • England
Label
Missing, presumed : a novel, Susie Steiner
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
1 online resource (350 pages)
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781443450522
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
40C194C8-E9E8-4A9D-83DF-1BCB683DD033
System control number
  • (OCoLC)952664499
  • ocn952664499
  • 2496780
Label
Missing, presumed : a novel, Susie Steiner
Link
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
1 online resource (350 pages)
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781443450522
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
40C194C8-E9E8-4A9D-83DF-1BCB683DD033
System control number
  • (OCoLC)952664499
  • ocn952664499
  • 2496780

Library Locations

  • Arcadia Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
    1302 North Justin Ave., Dallas, TX, 75211, US
    32.759167 -96.90955
  • Audelia Road Branch LibraryBorrow it
    10045 Audelia Road, Dallas, TX, 75238, US
    32.885666 -96.718403
  • Bachman Lake Branch LibraryBorrow it
    9480 Webb Chapel Road, Dallas, TX, 75220, US
    32.862693 -96.859319
  • Bookmarks in NorthPark CenterBorrow it
    8687 North Central Expressway, Dallas, TX, 75225, US
    32.868502 -96.859319
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    1515 Young Street, Dallas, TX, 75201, US
    32.778169 -96.796847
  • Central Library - 1st FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 2nd FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 3rd FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 4th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 5th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 6th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 6th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 6th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 7th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 8th Floor - GenealogyBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 8th Floor - HistoryBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Dallas West Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2332 Singleton Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75212, US
    32.778326 -96.860051
  • Forest Green Branch LibraryBorrow it
    9015 Forest Lane, Dallas, TX, 75243, US
    32.909562 -96.748751
  • Fretz Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6990 Belt Line Road, Dallas, TX, 75254, US
    32.949690 -96.783287
  • Grauwyler Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2146 Gilford Street, Dallas, TX, 75235, US
    32.833796 -96.858299
  • Hampton-Illinois Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2951 South Hampton Road, Dallas, TX, 75224, US
    32.713454 -96.857908
  • Highland Hills Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6200 Bonnie View Road, Dallas, TX, 75241, US
    32.670846 -96.760155
  • Kleberg-Rylie Branch LibraryBorrow it
    1301 Edd Road, Dallas, TX, 75253, US
    32.686405 -96.601051
  • Lakewood Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6121 Worth Street, Dallas, TX, 75214, US
    32.810371 -96.753402
  • Lochwood Branch LibraryBorrow it
    11221 Lochwood Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75218, US
    32.848358 -96.688228
  • Martin Luther King Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2922 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75215, US
    32.770560 -96.766025
  • Mountain Creek Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6102 Mountain Creek Parkway, Dallas, TX, 75249, US
    32.650591 -96.966025
  • North Oak Cliff Branch LibraryBorrow it
    302 West Tenth Street, Dallas, TX, 75208, US
    32.744798 -96.827018
  • Oak Lawn Branch LibraryBorrow it
    4100 Cedar Springs Road, Dallas, TX, 75219, US
    32.812377 -96.812417
  • Park Forest Branch LibraryBorrow it
    3421 Forest Lane, Dallas, TX, 75234, US
    32.910084 -96.863567
  • Paul Laurence Dunbar Lancaster-Kiest Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2008 East Kiest Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75216, US
    32.714826 -96.790407
  • Pleasant Grove Branch LibraryBorrow it
    7310 Lake June Road, Dallas, TX, 75217, US
    32.733780 -96.695778
  • Polk-Wisdom Branch LibraryBorrow it
    7151 Library Lane, Dallas, TX, 75232, US
    32.661676 -96.842047
  • Prairie Creek Branch LibraryBorrow it
    9609 Lake June Road, Dallas, TX, 75217, US
    32.734611 -96.656219
  • Preston Royal Branch LibraryBorrow it
    5626 Royal Lane, Dallas, TX, 75229, US
    32.894367 -96.811304
  • Renner Frankford Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6400 Frankford Road, Dallas, TX, 75252, US
    32.997706 -96.794584
  • Skillman Southwestern Branch LibraryBorrow it
    5707 Skillman Street, Dallas, TX, 75206, US
    32.857621 -96.756542
  • Skyline Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6006 Everglade Road, Dallas, TX, 75227, US
    32.784806 -96.699579
  • Timberglen Branch LibraryBorrow it
    18505 Midway Road, Dallas, TX, 75287, US
    33.003610 -96.845126
  • White Rock Hills Branch LibraryBorrow it
    18505 Midway Road, Dallas, TX, 75228, US
    32.814007 -96.691700
Processing Feedback ...