The Resource Vanessa and her sister : a novel, Priya Parmar

Vanessa and her sister : a novel, Priya Parmar

Label
Vanessa and her sister : a novel
Title
Vanessa and her sister
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Priya Parmar
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a captivating novel that offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa Bell, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the controversial and popular circle of intellectuals known as the Bloomsbury Group. London 1905. The city is alight with change and the Stephen siblings are at the forefront. Vanessa, Virginia, Thoby, and Adrian are leaving behind their childhood home and taking a house in the leafy heart of avant-garde Bloomsbury. There they bring together a glittering circle of brilliant, outrageous artistic friends who will grow into legend and come to be known as the Bloomsbury Group. And at the center of the charmed circle are the devoted, gifted sisters: Vanessa, the painter, and Virginia, the writer. Each member of the group will go on to earn fame and success, but so far Vanessa Bell has never sold a painting. Virginia Woolf's book review has just been turned down by The Times. Lytton Strachey has not published anything. E. M. Forster has finished his first novel but does not like the title. Leonard Woolf is still a civil servant in Ceylon, and John Maynard Keynes is looking for a job. Together, this sparkling coterie of writers and artists throw away convention and embrace the wild freedom of being young, single bohemians in London. But the landscape shifts when Vanessa unexpectedly falls in love and her sister feels dangerously abandoned. Eerily possessive, charismatic, manipulative, and brilliant, Virginia has always lived in the shelter of Vanessa's constant attention and encouragement. Without it, she careens toward self-destruction and madness. As tragedy and betrayal threaten to destroy the family, Vanessa must decide if it is finally time to protect her own happiness above all else. The work of exciting young newcomer Priya Parmar, Vanessa and Her Sister exquisitely captures the champagne-heady days of prewar London and the extraordinary lives of sisters Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf.Advance praise for Vanessa and Her Sister "Priya Parmar is on a high-wire act all her own in this radiantly original novel about the Bloomsbury Set. Irrepressible, with charm and brio to spare, Vanessa and Her Sister boldly invites us to that moment in history when famous minds sparked and collided, shaping the terrain of art and letters. But it's the two sisters who are most bewitching here--rocking on the brink of unforgivable transgression, changing each other in ways far-reaching and profound. Prepare to be dazzled."--Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife "With sparkling wit and insight, Priya Parmar sets us down into the legendary Bloomsbury household of the Stephen siblings, where sisters Vanessa and Virginia vie for love and primacy amid a collection of eccentric guests. Vanessa and Her Sister kidnapped me for a couple of days. I couldn't put it down."--Nancy Horan, author of Loving Frank "This is the novel I didn't know I was waiting for, and it is, quite simply, astonishing. Not just because of Priya Parmar's preternatural skill at evoking the moment when the lid was coming off the Victorians and the heated talk about art, life, and sex swirled through Bloomsbury, but because of how she has caught the two sisters at the center of that swirl--the women who would become Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf. Vanessa and Her Sister is beautiful and wise, and as deft as a stroke upon the canvas."--Sarah Blake, author of The PostmistressFrom the Hardcover edition
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1974-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Parmar, Priya
Dewey number
813/.6
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PS3616.A757
LC item number
V36 2014ab
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Emilia Fox, Clare Corbett, Julian Rhind-Tutt, Daniel Pirrie, and Anthony Calf
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
  • 1974-
  • 1968-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Corbett, Clare
  • Fox, Emilia
  • Rhind-Tutt, Julian
  • Pirrie, Daniel
  • Calf, Anthony
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Bell, Vanessa
  • Woolf, Virginia
  • Bell, Vanessa
  • Woolf, Virginia
  • Sisters
  • Women artists
  • Women authors, English
  • Bloomsbury group
  • Bloomsbury group
  • Intellectual life
  • Sisters
  • Women artists
  • Women authors, English
  • London (England)
  • England
  • England
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Vanessa and her sister : a novel, Priya Parmar
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (10 hr., 52 min., 37 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780553398458
Kind of cutting
unknown
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
unknown
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
unknown
Stock number
86223C02-FF10-46A6-A873-686D00E7A819
System control number
  • (OCoLC)898284720
  • (OCoLC)ocn898284720
  • 2190877
  • 2435328
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
unknown
Label
Vanessa and her sister : a novel, Priya Parmar
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (10 hr., 52 min., 37 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780553398458
Kind of cutting
unknown
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
unknown
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
unknown
Stock number
86223C02-FF10-46A6-A873-686D00E7A819
System control number
  • (OCoLC)898284720
  • (OCoLC)ocn898284720
  • 2190877
  • 2435328
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
unknown

Library Locations

  • Arcadia Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
    1302 North Justin Ave., Dallas, TX, 75211, US
    32.759167 -96.90955
  • Audelia Road Branch LibraryBorrow it
    10045 Audelia Road, Dallas, TX, 75238, US
    32.885666 -96.718403
  • Bachman Lake Branch LibraryBorrow it
    9480 Webb Chapel Road, Dallas, TX, 75220, US
    32.862693 -96.859319
  • Bookmarks in NorthPark CenterBorrow it
    8687 North Central Expressway, Dallas, TX, 75225, US
    32.868502 -96.859319
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    1515 Young Street, Dallas, TX, 75201, US
    32.778169 -96.796847
  • Central Library - 1st FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 2nd FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 3rd FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 4th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 5th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 6th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 6th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 6th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 7th FloorBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 8th Floor - GenealogyBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Central Library - 8th Floor - HistoryBorrow it
    Dallas, TX, US
  • Dallas West Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2332 Singleton Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75212, US
    32.778326 -96.860051
  • Forest Green Branch LibraryBorrow it
    9015 Forest Lane, Dallas, TX, 75243, US
    32.909562 -96.748751
  • Fretz Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6990 Belt Line Road, Dallas, TX, 75254, US
    32.949690 -96.783287
  • Grauwyler Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2146 Gilford Street, Dallas, TX, 75235, US
    32.833796 -96.858299
  • Hampton-Illinois Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2951 South Hampton Road, Dallas, TX, 75224, US
    32.713454 -96.857908
  • Highland Hills Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6200 Bonnie View Road, Dallas, TX, 75241, US
    32.670846 -96.760155
  • Kleberg-Rylie Branch LibraryBorrow it
    1301 Edd Road, Dallas, TX, 75253, US
    32.686405 -96.601051
  • Lakewood Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6121 Worth Street, Dallas, TX, 75214, US
    32.810371 -96.753402
  • Lochwood Branch LibraryBorrow it
    11221 Lochwood Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75218, US
    32.848358 -96.688228
  • Martin Luther King Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2922 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75215, US
    32.770560 -96.766025
  • Mountain Creek Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6102 Mountain Creek Parkway, Dallas, TX, 75249, US
    32.650591 -96.966025
  • North Oak Cliff Branch LibraryBorrow it
    302 West Tenth Street, Dallas, TX, 75208, US
    32.744798 -96.827018
  • Oak Lawn Branch LibraryBorrow it
    4100 Cedar Springs Road, Dallas, TX, 75219, US
    32.812377 -96.812417
  • Park Forest Branch LibraryBorrow it
    3421 Forest Lane, Dallas, TX, 75234, US
    32.910084 -96.863567
  • Paul Laurence Dunbar Lancaster-Kiest Branch LibraryBorrow it
    2008 East Kiest Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75216, US
    32.714826 -96.790407
  • Pleasant Grove Branch LibraryBorrow it
    7310 Lake June Road, Dallas, TX, 75217, US
    32.733780 -96.695778
  • Polk-Wisdom Branch LibraryBorrow it
    7151 Library Lane, Dallas, TX, 75232, US
    32.661676 -96.842047
  • Prairie Creek Branch LibraryBorrow it
    9609 Lake June Road, Dallas, TX, 75217, US
    32.734611 -96.656219
  • Preston Royal Branch LibraryBorrow it
    5626 Royal Lane, Dallas, TX, 75229, US
    32.894367 -96.811304
  • Renner Frankford Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6400 Frankford Road, Dallas, TX, 75252, US
    32.997706 -96.794584
  • Skillman Southwestern Branch LibraryBorrow it
    5707 Skillman Street, Dallas, TX, 75206, US
    32.857621 -96.756542
  • Skyline Branch LibraryBorrow it
    6006 Everglade Road, Dallas, TX, 75227, US
    32.784806 -96.699579
  • Timberglen Branch LibraryBorrow it
    18505 Midway Road, Dallas, TX, 75287, US
    33.003610 -96.845126
  • White Rock Hills Branch LibraryBorrow it
    18505 Midway Road, Dallas, TX, 75228, US
    32.814007 -96.691700
Processing Feedback ...